Random Thoughts on a Friday

I got a letter of introduction in the mail the other day from my seminary.  It was from Alan who is now chief fundraiser.  I believe that he will do a good job, but I am glad that just about everyone I knew in Student Services is now gone.  Smaller schools have had a great struggle this last few years.

I don’t know if it has been really that hot and humid this year, or if it is because of the immobilizer that I get to wear after surgery.  It really seems nasty.  This is the first time I can remember relying on the A/C in my car.  I was not sure it even worked before this summer, but it does and that is a good thing.

I am really looking forward to the new book study that I am trying here.  I am just about ready to go with it and I hope that it is well received and many folks get a chance to take part in it.

We are putting together a new small group look this fall at the church.  I am still trying to name it, Beth is pushing for UP4G (Uniting People for God) groups.  I am not sure on the name but the concept is exciting.  I am looking for people to lead a group centered around their passions and drives.  I have a games group, a movie group, a “Green Bible” group, and a Beatles group (the Band not the bug).  I am still looking for more ideas and groups.  We will promote the traditional Sunday schools, UMW and other groups that meet here at the same time.  If you have an idea (and want to lead) let me know.  The new groups are going to start as 6 week groups and then we will evaluate and do another six weeks.  If you can’t join now we look forward to you joining in the future.

I have avoided real work long enough, hope that you have a great weekend and that you join us Monday for the start of the new Study.

Peace

ron

5 thoughts on “Random Thoughts on a Friday

  1. Love the name UP4G
    Do you know when your group will meet? Day? Time?
    By the way yes, it has been very hot and humid this year so be happy to know it is not just you.

  2. I am intrigued by your new small group idea this year but not sure I get it yet. Can you give me an example of what “games” group might be? Not that I am interested in that one necessarily but want to get a feel of what you are expecting from the group sessions. Also, are the books becoming available again soon or do we have to purchase on line? Looking forward to some fellowship next week!

  3. There are (hopefully) many groups with many times and days, giving a variety to people. While spending time in the word, some of these groups are not like traditional bible groups. These groups can be more social in nature, with the intent of growing relationships across service times and natural groupings. I will be honest, I need to find out the types or exact games that are planned. I will let you know as I find out.

Leave a Reply

